Last updated: 12:25 PM ET, Mon July 18 2016

UNESCO Adds 16 New Sites to World Heritage List

Destination & Tourism | Donald Wood | July 18, 2016

UNESCO Adds 16 New Sites to World Heritage List

PHOTO: Lut Desert (Photo courtesy of Thinkstock )

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) has announced the addition of 16 new sites to its World Heritage List.

According to The Associated Press, UNESCO announced four sites Friday that would be added to the list, including China's Zuojiang Huashan rock art cultural landscape, Iran's ancient aqueducts known as Qanat, India's archaeological site of Nalanda Mahavihara and Micronesia's artificial islets of Nan Madol.

In addition, is reporting that UNESCO officials voted to add 12 more cultural sites to its World Heritage List. The new sites are listed below:

•Mistaken Point in Canada

•Lut Desert in Iran

•Archipielago de Revillagigedo in Mexico

•Tien-Shan mountain range in Central Asia

•Ennedi Massif in Chad

•Architectural Work of Le Corbusier

•Hubei Shennongjia in China

•Khangchendzonga National Park in India

• Ahwar of Southern Iraq

• Antigua Naval Dockyard in Antigua and Barbuda

• Sanganeb Marine National Park in Sudan

• Pampulha Modern Ensemble in Brazil

The UNESCO voting committee has been meeting in Istanbul from July 10 through July 20 to determine which of the nominated sites would be added to the World Heritage List.


You may use your Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook information, including your name, photo & any other personal data you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on Click here to learn more.

Live Aqua Cancun: All-Inclusive Luxury in Paradise

Hotels & Resorts