Last updated: 05:10 PM ET, Thu October 27 2016

Hyatt Hotels Set to Transform Its Loyalty Program

Hotel & Resort Patrick Clarke October 27, 2016

Hyatt Hotels Set to Transform Its Loyalty Program

PHOTO: Grand Hyatt Seattle. (Photo courtesy of Hyatt). 

Hyatt appears poised to shake up its loyalty program. 

According to, the Chicago-based hotel company is taking a page out of the airline industry's book with a new hotel rewards program set to go into effect next year.

Hyatt Gold Passport is set to become World of Hyatt. The shift will do away with Platinum and Diamond status, instead creating Discoverist, Explorist and Globalist status above member status.

A notable change to the program will include no longer being able to qualify based on stays. However, members will still be able to qualify based on nights and points, which are earned based on dollars spent.

Every $1 spent equals five points, with elite members receiving bonus points.

In addition to rewarding members for spending more at Hyatt properties, the new program is designed to encourage members to stay at a variety of Hyatt brands. For example, after trying at least five different brands, members are rewarded with a complimentary stay at a Category 1-4 hotel.

What It Means

According to, beginning March 1, 2017, members of Hyatt's loyalty program who have status will be transitioned to a new level.

Those who would have requalified for Diamond status for 2017 will receive Globalist status, while those Diamond status members who wouldn't requalify for 2017 we'll receive Explorist status. 

Meanwhile, those who requalified for Platinum status for 2017 we'll enter into Discoverist status. 

What's more, those who qualified for any Hyatt Gold Passport status in 2016 and would have requalified will be upgraded. 

More information on the program changes should be available next month, while the revamped program is set to take effect in March 2017.